Module 3: The Liturgy of the Word

The Liturgy of the Word  shares with us the inspired words of God, helps us understand the history of our faith and gives us guidance on how we should live our life.


The Biblical Readings

The stories from the Bible are more than just the writings of people who witnessed God: they are the inspired Word of God written by people chosen by God.


In order to learn the fullness of God’s every word, various parts of the Bible are read on a three-year cycle. From the Old Testament to the New Testament – we are taken on a beautiful film – a journey on the beginning of mankind, a walk through the outstanding work of men and women in history, and all for the Glory of the Father, the Son and the holy Spirit.


Throughout the Liturgical year, we are also engaged on a seasonal voyage to hear the events in Jesus life such as the four weeks of Advent season, the birth of Christ on Christmas season, forty days of Lenten season and the fifty days of the Easter Season.


Just like birthdays and other important days in our life, we also celebrate feasts as a reminder of the important events and people in the Catholic Church. There are quite a few but the most common ones are listed below:


December 27 – Feast of Saint John the Beloved Disciple

December 28 – Commemoration of the Holy Innocents

Sunday following Christmas – Holy family Sunday

January 1 – Celebration of Mary, the Mother of God

January 6 – The feast of Epiphany

March 17 – Saint Patrick’s Day

Sunday after Pentecost – Solemnity of the Blessed Trinity

Sunday after Solemnity of the Blessed trinity – Corpus Christi

Week before the First Sunday of Advent – Solemnity of Christ the King

May – Dedicated to Mary, Mother of God

November 1 – All Saints Day

December 8 – Feast of the Immaculate Concepcion

December 12 – Feast of our Lady of Guadalupe


Go to (3.1) The First and Second Reading